Between shadows of dusk

I want to talk with you forever. I remember every word you’ve ever said to me. If only I could visit you as a foreigner goes into a new country, learn the language of you, wander past all borders into every private and secret place, I would stay forever. I would become a citizen of you. You would say it’s too soon to feel this way. You would ask how I could be so certain.  

Some things can’t be measured by time. Ask me an hour from now. Ask me a month from now. A year, ten years, a lifetime. The way I love you will outlast every calendar, clock, and every toll of every bell that will ever be cast.”

You are the edge of my heart, kept my mouth raw with words i couldn’t fathom; oceans of you flooded me. I rode on the sea of you. your eyes are my anchors. When you kiss me I taste forever. when you kiss me time stops and we live in the never.
Sometimes when I read poetry, 
I think of you and that’s how I make love to you when I miss you when you’re not around.
I love you when you’re wrong as much as when you’re right. I love every part of you that you think is out of place. As much when you need me as when you need your space. I love you in flashes of silver and of gold. Between the shadows of dusk and like warmth to cold. I’ll keep your heart close to mine as close as you are to mine.

One thought on “Between shadows of dusk

Leave a Reply

